Efforts at Christian unity across denominations and ethnic groups fall into several categories,  it is helpful to distinguish them from each other, and to categorize them in a spectrum.  Having done so, we find that efforts at unity often remain at levels 1 and 2, occasionally rising to level 3, but rarely entering into levels 4 and 5.

Level 1: Having business together

     It is in our mutual interest to share resources or to provide services to each other. i.e., sharing a building.

Level 2: Symbolic acts of ecumenicism

     Public declarations of Christian unity and affection. i.e., worshipping together.

Level 3: Enjoying relationship

     Private fellowship and intimacy.

Level 4: Strategic partners

     Strategizing together, giving each other 'veto power.'

Level 5: organizational unity

     Where we simply come under the same leadership structure.
     This need not be the goal of efforts toward Christian unity,
     although, it shouldn't be kept off the table either.

No comments: